Week One: Swiss Chard Spanakopita Casserole

I’m not sure why I felt so utterly challenged (read daunted) by the swiss chard in the box this week.  Was it because I’ve never (knowingly) consumed it in my life, let alone cooked it?  Was it because I had to Google it to verify exactly what it was?  I don’t know…but I was determined to find a tasty way to fix it.

This recipe is an adaption from a Cooking Light.  I added a pound of wonderful grass fed ground beef to make it heartier, as well as pine nuts (because it seemed like the Greek thing to do!).  The original recipe calls for mint, but I’m wary of using mint in cooking.  In my house, mint knows its place:  Altoids and mojitos.  Don’t be intimidated by working with the phyllo.  The last time I used phyllo, I was brushing each sheet with melted butter to make a chocolate baklava.  This time, you simply spray each sheet with cooking spray after you layer it making for a wonderfully thin and crispy crust.

Ingredients

Cooking spray

2 1/4 cups minced white onions

3/4 cup minced green onion

3 garlic cloves, minced

9 cups chopped trimmed Swiss chard

6 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

1 cup (4 ounces) crumbled feta cheese

1/2 cup (2 ounces) freshly grated Parmesan cheese

1 pound lean ground beef or lamb

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

3 large egg whites

10 sheets frozen phyllo dough, thawed

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Brown ground beef in large skillet over medium heat.  Drain fat.  Add white onion to skillet with ground beef.  saute 7 minutes or until golden.  Add green onion and garlic, and saute 1 minute.  Stir in chard; cook until chard wilts (about 2 minutes).  Stir in parsley and cook 1 minute.  Place in large bowl and cool slightly.  Stir in cheeses, salt, pepper, and egg whites.

Spray 9 x 13 inch casserole or Pyrex dish with cooking spray. lay one sheet of phyllo in bottom of dish.  spray with cooking spray.  top with another sheet and spray with cooking spray.  Continue in this manner until you have layered 5 sheets of phyllo.  spread filling in dish.  Repeat process of layering phyllo sheets on top of filling, spraying each sheet before laying the next one.  Bake at 350 degrees 40-50 minutes or until golden brown.

2 responses to “Week One: Swiss Chard Spanakopita Casserole

  1. Hi, Was your dish as good as it looked? When I have room in my garden, I like to grow rainbow chard. The colorful stems make a dish of sauted chard look so pretty. I sauté the chard with garlic and extra virgin olive oil. I’ll try your recipe the next time I have a bunch of chard.

Leave a Reply

