Girl vs. Vegetables

This has been a tough week so far. It’s only week 2 and I’m already starting to feel like the vegetables are overwhelming my fridge. Okay, maybe it’s just the Romaine because I’ve gotten that two weeks in a row and, let’s face it, there’s only so much you can do with Romaine, right?

When I had a conversation with someone at work about joining the CSA, and after I expressed my hesitancy about the veggies I’ve never cooked or eaten (“What on earth am I going to do with kale?”), her response: “You have to make kale chips. My husband can’t eat enough of them.” Hmmm…then when I received an email from the farm with CSA week 2 recipes and a recipe for kale chips was included, I had to try them.

It’s too simple, really. Wash the kale, pull the curly leaves off of the tough stems, toss in a bowl with a bit of olive oil and salt, place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and bake for about 20 minutes or until crisp at 300 degrees. I used truffle salt to add a bit more flavor. Garlic salt would also be divine. Don’t forget to line the cookie sheet with parchment for easy clean up.

What do you get? Well, they come out of the oven looking pretty much the same as when they go in. The difference is that they are extremely light and so crispy that I would call them fragile. Remove them from the cookie sheet and place in a bowl with a paper towel to absorb any extra oil. A word of caution: They should be eaten right away. My daughter dropped by the next day and said “Oh, are these kale chips?” (their reputation precedes them?). She tried one and it was already chewy. I have also included a photo of a lovely tomato, cucumber, basil salad with balsamic dressing that I made for a picnic. The cukes were from the CSA box, the basil from my backyard. This salad was a tasty accompaniment to egg salad sandwiches on rosemary lavender foccaccia (also from CSA).

Leave a Reply

