blueberry macaroon tart

Before I even picked up today’s CSA box, I remembered that I still had blueberries leftover from last week despite making blueberry pancakes for Father’s Day (OK really, the pancakes were for me.  My husband elected to have toast and eggs for his F-Day breakfast).  Lately, I have been digging on the new cookbook by Heidi Swanson, Super Natural Every Day.  The recipes are simple and fresh-the photos divine and lush.  This is a recipe from that book, with slight variation in that I used blueberries instead of blackberries.  Also, the recipe calls for a 8″ x 11″ tart pan (which I don’t have).  I used a round tart pan, thereby decreasing the surface area of the tart which called for less nuts.  Aside from a few smaller inconsistencies with the original recipe (I DO wash my blueberries, and I DON’T sift my sugar), all other quantities were true to the original recipe.  I found that I had to cook the tart longer than the original stated time.

This macaroon recipe calls for pistachios and I realized, upon opening the bag, that I have never eaten a pistachio in my life!  I couldn’t get the first few cracked, so I carried them into my husband who was working at home, and asked if there was a trick to it.  I think he chuckled.  He will deny it, but I’m pretty sure I heard a chuckle.  Most of the nuts in the bag were half open-like a clam when you steam it.  I cracked the rest of my nuts alone, thank you.

 

blueberry macaroon tart

Crust

1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour

3/4 cup unsweetened finely shredded coconut

3/4 cup sugar

scant 1/2 tsp fine grain sea salt

10 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Filling

2 cups unsweetened finely shredded coconut

1/2 cup sugar

4 large egg whites

8 ounces blueberries

1/4 cup pistachios, crushed

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Butter a tart pan (in my case, a 9 inch round) and line bottom and sides with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, coconut, sugar and salt.  Stir in the melted butter and mix until crumbly.  Firmly and evenly press into bottom of pan.  Bake 15 minutes, or until slightly golden.  Set aside to cool.

Meanwhile, make filling by combining coconut, sugar, and egg whites.  Mix well.  Distribute blueberries across tart crust.  Drop spoonfuls of filling over blueberries, mushing and pressing the filling around the berries making sure the berries show through.

Bake for 20-25 minutes (or in my case, more like 50 minutes), or until the macaroon filling is a deep golden color.  Let cool, then sprinkle with crushed pistachios before slicing.

 

6 responses to “blueberry macaroon tart

  1. You forgot to mention how much your grandson loves this recipe!

  2. I really want to try this. Not a big coconut fan but hey it has blueberries so I’m game.

  3. It sounds decadently good. I have never lined a tart pan before…do you think it was because of the sugar in the crust.

    • I’m not sure because there’s also a lot of butter in the crust. I’m considering not lining it next time to see how it turns out. I would also add a bit more blueberries. Let me know if you decide to make it!

Leave a Reply

