salsa casi famoso

After logging up approximately 1, 700 road trip miles in a white Mustang convertible on our recent road trip to northern California and Oregon, we are home and feeling renewed and rested!   We began and ended our trip in Redding, California at the home of my lovely aunt.  When we rolled into her driveway after driving, hiking, driving, and hiking more for seven days, she greeted us with fabulously cold margaritas. They were so refreshing and delicious that every time my husband’s eyes met mine he would mouth something like “we HAVE to make these” or “this is my new favorite drink”.   It turns out she got the recipe from my older brother, who in turn got it from the Border Grill in Las Vegas.  We both agreed that the margarita begged for pairing with my almost famous salsa.

Feeling badly that my husband had to get up to go to a meeting at 8:30 this morning after we finally made it home from the airport at 2 am, I found myself making a trip to the grocery store for a bag of limes and making a batch of simple syrup to have “vacation cocktails” and homemade salsa waiting when he got home.  I acquired three wonderful tomatoes in this week’s csa box, adding them to the few on my plant that had ripened in our absence.

Recreating this salsa recipe so that it could be…well, recreated, was a bit of a challenge.  I’ve been making it for about 25 years and it’s a little different each time.  Sometimes, I add tomatillas.  I’ve been know to make it with organic, canned,  diced tomatoes when fresh are out of season.  I like it spicy; however,  if it needs to be kid-friendly I back off on the heat.  Keep it chunky and serve with a sturdy chip.  It’s also delicious with grilled chicken or fish.

Play with it, adjust the quantities, make it your own.

almost famous salsa

5 – 6 medium ripe tomatoes, diced

2 medium white onions, chopped

5 spring onions, tops included, sliced thin

1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley leaves

1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro leaves

1/4 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp dried oregano

2 gloves smashed garlic

2 chopped green chilies (you can determine what type according to heat desired)

juice of 1/2 fresh lime

splash olive oil

splash red wine vinegar

add preferred hot sauce to taste, if desired *Personally, I prefer this brand*

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl.  Working in batches, pulse very slightly in food processor (you want to maintain the chunky texture).  Depending on ripeness of tomatoes, you may want to drain it a bit.  Refrigerate for several hours before serving so that flavors can blend.

4 responses to “salsa casi famoso

  1. I cook very much like you do and make recipes a little different each time I cook one. When I post a recipe, it takes time to get the measurements just right. I really enjoy your blog.

    • Usually when I make a dish from a recipe for the first time, I follow it exactly. Then, I decide the next time what I want to tweak. I’m glad you like the blog. I’m having a lot of fun doing it because it contains two things I love: food and photography. Now if I could just work “travel” into that equation and quit my day job…

  2. I heart this salsa!!!

Leave a Reply

