beans! beans! they’re good for your heart…

We’re back from our second (that’s right, I said second) vacation this summer.

The first, our trip to the Pacific northwest, was an adult-only trip.

The second, kids included, was a trip down south to the land of our honeymoon, Kiawah island, South Carolina.  I admit that I was a little hesitant returning  with kids in tow,  but I guess the fact that I retained limited, specific memories of the first trip (thanks, old age!) probably worked in my favor.  The beach was every bit as beautiful as I remembered…the city of Charleston just as charming.  There was just a lot little more whining this time than I remembered.

I’ve been toying with the idea of creating another section of the blog containing photos and description of our travels; however that is going to require prolonged, undivided attention/creativity that I simply won’t have until school starts the next week. Until I get that going,  here is a little teaser…a photo of my husband in the Redwood National Forest.

Back to the recipe…

I apologize (sort of) for the crude post title.  Can I blame it on prolonged face time with my 11-year-old son during the past week of vacation?  Although he starts middle school next week, he still giggles at a flatulence reference in the way that boys do.

I hope you’ll give this recipe a try.  I don’t know about you, but I often go to barbecues in the summer and am overwhelmed by the creamy, mayonnaise-laden side dishes.  This is a filling, but light, alternative.

bean and romaine salad with honey balsamic dressing

8 ounces each:  cooked chickpeas, pinto beans, black beans (fresh or canned, drained and rinsed)

1 small head of romaine lettuce, shredded

1/3 cup sliced, toasted almonds

garnish with 10 springs fresh thyme

dressing

2 tsp olive oil

1 1/2 Tbsp honey

2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 1/2 Tbsp lemon juice

1/4 tsp sea salt

One response to “beans! beans! they’re good for your heart…

  1. Pingback: Highlighting National Salad Month | fiercelyfresh

Leave a Reply

