earthquake, hurricane, back to school…

It’s been a crazy couple of weeks.

First, an earthquake during the day when my son and I were the only ones home.  This was  the second earthquake I’ve experienced, so I wasn’t even certain that it was, in fact, an earthquake.  We live fairly close to the airport and I thought the first rumblings were a low flying airplane.

As I later found out, my catastrophe response skills are messed up…my son and I ran into the basement instead of outside.  By the time we experience the next earthquake, I will have forgotten this little fact and will most likely run into the basement again.

Last weekend hurricane Irene blew through.  Initially, we made almost no preparation for it…then spent Friday and Saturday stocking up on non-perishables, moving the patio furniture and everything else not bolted down indoors, freezing bags of water, etc.  Luckily, we escaped without damage or power loss.  I even made it to work Sunday morning.  The first day of school, however,  was canceled.

Now that everyone, and everything, is back on track and right with the world I was really looking forward to picking up the CSA box this week.  Inspired by this, I was determined to fashion a fresh fruit cocktail from my bounty.  During our trip to Oregon, we drank a LOT of wine.  During our trip to Kiawah, we drank a LOT of beer (thank you, Corona, for making cans that are easy to pop a lime into on the beach).  I’ve been really craving a different type of cocktail…something fresh to eek every last bit of summery flavor before it turns cool.  I used an entire seedless watermelon to make a pitcher of this watermelon…cooler?  martini?  It doesn’t matter what you call it, it’s just delicious.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Watermelon Cocktail

3 pounds of watermelon, cubed (should give you about 5 1/2 cups juice

1/2 cup vodka (I used Absolut Citron because that’s what I had on hand)

1/4 cup triple sec

3 Tablespoons fresh squeezed lime juice

Puree watermelon in a blender, then strain to remove solids and seeds.  Mix watermelon juice with remaining ingredients in a shaker or pitcher.  Shake with ice and strain into chilled glasses, or refrigerate pitcher before serving.  Makes approximately 6 drinks (depending on size).

4 responses to “earthquake, hurricane, back to school…

  1. I’m thinking this will make for a nice weekend drink. Four more days to go!

  2. Thank you for the link. I’m really happy that I inspired you to make your delicious cocktail. I’ll have one on the dock in these waning days of summer.

Leave a Reply

