fiercely fresh apple pie

 

I posted this as my status on Facebook a couple of days ago:

“While I like pumpkin lattes as much as the next person, ordering one is like admitting that summer is over”.

It’s no secret to those who know me that I can’t stand tolerate winter.  I suffer through until the days get longer, things can be touched without a jolt of static electricity, and I don’t have to wait 15 minutes for the car windows to defrost.  Meanwhile, my poor husband suffers through me asking him every other week to move to a more temperate climate.

Just as pumpkin lattes have arrived, so have the apples. While I’m looking forward to this in the coming weeks, in these early days of fall I’m enjoying a simple apple pie.

There several variations, but I prefer a straightforward pie without a lot of added ingredients.  This recipe calls for little more than the apples, a little sugar and some spices.

Have you ever purchased packaged pie crust from the grocery store?  Er, me neither.  I make my own crust, using this recipe for pate brisee from Martha Stewart.  It’s so simple, and I’m drawn to anything that can be whipped up in the food processor.  Make a few batches and freeze the discs.  You’ll be glad you did when it’s time to make a fruit or pot pies.

If you want to add a little “wow” factor to your pies with no effort at all, invest in these. They’re a little different from mine but will do the trick.  Sometimes, if I roll my dough out as thin as I should and I have enough extra, I cut enough to line the whole outer rim of the crust.

 

fiercely fresh apple pie

6 cups firm, tart apples, peeled and and thinly sliced

3/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

2 tablespoons butter

pastry crust for 9-inch pie (2 crusts)

Heat oven to 425 degrees.  Mix sugar, flour, nutmeg and cinnamon.  Stir in apples.  Spoon into pastry-lined pie plate; dot the top with small pieces of the butter.  Cover with the top crust.  Cut slits in crust to allow steam to escape.  Seal top and bottom crusts, fluting the edges.  Cover edge with strip of aluminum foil to prevent burning.  Bake until crust is brown and juice begins to bubble through slits in crust, about 40 to 50 minutes.  Remove foil from pie crust for last 15 minutes of baking.

Leave a Reply

