a pumpkin pie craving

 

Ever since I had to work through Thanksgiving, I’ve had a craving for pumpkin pie.  The rest of the traditional Thanksgiving meal is fine, and I really missed my mother-in-law’s cooking this year, but the thing I really missed was not having any pumpkin pie.

I came across this recipe on one of my favorite new blogs, foodloveswriting.  I love her blog because Shannalee does what I seem to be gravitating toward these days-more photo-blogging than recipes and cooking (probably a seasonal thing for me).

I didn’t change much about her recipe apart from using my own crust recipe.  Also, I didn’t roast a pumpkin for puree, canned organic pumpkin worked very nicely (and neatly).

I’ve included a few photos in this post from the train garden at Homestead Gardens in Davidsonville.  My husband and I had a free afternoon and strolled through the garden center.  I’ve always heard the decor is beautiful and that the train garden was especially impressive.

 

pumpkin pie

1 unbaked pie crust

2 eggs

1 cup sucanat or brown sugar

1 Tbsp flour (I used whole wheat)

2 cups organic pumpkin puree (NOT pumpking pie filling)

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp allspice

12 ounces organic heavy cream

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

In a large bowl, beat two eggs lightly.  Add the rest of the ingredients.  Mix together well.

Pour mixture into unbaked pie crust, leaving a little space at the top.  Bake for 10 minutes at 450 degrees; then lower the temperature to 350 degree.  The original recipe says to bake another 40-50 minutes, but mine took more like 65 minutes.  It’s done when a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

4 responses to “a pumpkin pie craving

  1. wow..prettiest pumpkin pies I’ve ever seen…almost too pretty to eat…. but not quite.

  2. That’s what Ed said, but it didn’t stop us!

  3. Such a beautiful pie!! That has to be the most prettiest thing I’ve seen all day! So cute!

Leave a Reply

