Nutella macarons for V-day

I realize I’m posting early in the week, but I thought if you had these ingredients on hand, you might want to whip up a batch of these simple, yummy treats today for your true love.

My kids are getting older.  I Realized last night that this is the first Valentine’s Day in 17 years that I would not be purchasing the themed box of cards to be handed out to classmates at a school party (which I always volunteered to help with).

I wanted to come up with an easy, yet special treat for today.  My daughter won’t even consider a dessert without chocolate, or a peanut butter sandwich without Nutella spread.  Incorporating my latest fancy for macarons, I present to you the Nutella macaron…

 Nutella Macarons


one 13-ounce jar of Nutella

1 1/4 C. all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened to room temperature

1 large egg

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a large bowl, beat together butter, 3/4 cup of the Nutella, and egg until well blended.  In a separate medium bowl, toss together flour with baking powder and salt.  Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture until well combined (it will be a sticky dough).  Turn out onto a lightly floured surface and knead, adding a little flour if necessary.  Separate dough into 18 equal pieces.  Roll each ball into a round ball.  Place each ball on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Bake 12 minutes or until set, being careful not to over bake.  Cool 10-15 minutes on cookie sheet.  Cut each cookie with a serrated knife.  Spread the bottom of each cookie with 1 tsp Nutella and replace top.

Leave a Reply

