grilled broccoli with parsley, garlic, and anchovies

Even though this has been the mildest winter I can recall in ages, these sun-filled, 75-degree days we’ve been having feel wicked good!

If spring has not touched you where you live-I apologize if it seems like I am rubbing it in, but it is glorious indeed!

In spring, a girl’s fancy turns toward grilling…

Whenever I am cooking on the grill, my goal is to either A). Prepare all side dishes ahead of time so that I can concentrate entirely on the grill, or B). Prepare a side dish on the grill also, allowing me to concentrate entirely on the grill.  Many a piece of meat, poultry and fish have been charred when I fail to adhere to one of these two options.

That’s why I was excited to try this grilled broccoli recipe from Andrea Reusing’s book Cooking in the Moment.  While I’ve never liked anchovies on my pizza, they add a rich flavor to sauces and dips and have become my new favorite secret ingredient.  Make the topping ahead of time, so that once the broccoli is charred you’ll be ready to serve it.

grilled broccoli with parsley, garlic, and anchovies

2 small bunches of broccoli

2 Tbsp olive oil, plus more for coating the broccoli prior to grilling

6 anchovy fillets, minced

2 crushed garlic cloves

grated zest of 1 lemon

1/3 cup finely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley leaves

2 tsp chile flakes

Prepare a hot fire on the grill.

Mix the anchovies, garlic, lemon zest, parsley, 2 Tbsp olive oil, and chile flakes in a bowl.  Set aside.

Cut broccoli lengthwise to make long florets with most of the stem attached.  Blanch in well-salted water for just 15-20 seconds, a little longer if broccoli is thicker (I blanched mine about 40-45 seconds).  Drain well, transfer to a medium bowl and toss with approximately 1 Tbsp of olive oil.  Turn grill to low (or wait for flames to die down on charcoal grill) and grill the broccoli until there is a slight char all over (I did mine on the upper rack of my gas grill).

Remove broccoli and mix well with anchovy mixture before serving.

Leave a Reply

