bison sloppy joes

I always thought when my children reached school-age, I’d have more free time to myself to do some things that I don’t get to do too often like…I don’t know…work.

Not so.  The responsibilities shift from diapers and play dates to science fair projects, hockey lessons and sleepovers.  The amount of taxiing, bake sale preparation, and field trip chaperoning can be overwhelming at times.  When new moms tell me they’re going to go back to work when their child starts kindergarten, I applaud them.  I really do.  Then, I remember the wise words of my oldest daughter’s childhood day care provider:  Don’t kid yourself.  They need you more when they’re older, just in a different way.

 

Enter freezer meals.  Like my turkey chili (which I thought I’d posted before, but apparently not.  Oooops!), this can be made ahead and frozen to thaw out on a moment’s notice between math tutoring and piano lessons.  The mushrooms give it an earthy flavor and you get to sneak in some carrots for those who are not inclined to eat vegetables straight up.

At 2.4 grams of fat per 3 1/2 ounce serving, bison has less fat than chicken.  It also contains more iron per serving than salmon or beef.

bison sloppy joes 

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 pound ground bison

8 ounces sliced baby portobello mushrooms

1 cup chopped yellow onion

1 carrot, peeled and chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup tomato paste

1 tsp dried oregano

2 Tbsp red wine vinegar

2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 Tbsp organic blackstrap molasses

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

1/2 tsp hot sauce (optional)

4 whole wheat  hamburger buns or kaiser rolls, toasted

Heat a large skillet over medium heat.  Add olive oil.  Add bison; cook for approximately 4-5 minutes or until browned, breaking it up with a spoon as it cooks.

Place mushrooms in a food processor and pulse until finely chopped.  Add mushrooms, onion, carrot and garlic to pan with bison.  Cook until tender, about 3-4 minutes.  Add tomato paste and next 5 ingredients to pan; continue to cook until mushrooms are tender, about 5 minutes.  Stir in pepper and hot sauce (if using).

Divide mixture between 4 toasted buns (serving size is approximately 1 cup each).

One response to “bison sloppy joes

  1. Life does get complicated as our children get older.

Leave a Reply

