mom’s chocolate chip cookies

Happy belated Mother’s Day.

My mother has passed away, but Mother’s Day remains a day when I reminisce about all those little things that made my mom, well…my mom.  When she died, my siblings and I sorted her things,  like children do.  It’s the small things of hers that I kept and still cherish.  Things that I can take out, turn over in my hand, then tuck back away in a safe place until next time; objects which invoke a specific memory such as a Christmas ornament, photos, and handwritten recipe cards.

To the people who knew her, my mom was famous for two desserts:  her brownies and her chocolate chip cookies, which she called drop sugar cookies (the reason known only to her).

Not your garden variety chewy chocolate chip cookie, hers were smaller and more cake-like, moist with gooey bits of chocolate throughout.

I adapted her recipe a bit, using all butter instead of shortening.  Another change is the substitution of organic sucanate instead of granulated white sugar, and white whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour.

drop sugar cookies (chocolate chip cookies)

1 1/2 cups butter, softened

1/2 cup organic sucanate

1 cup light brown sugar

2 Tbsp vanilla extract

2 eggs, beaten and room temperature

4 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour

2 tsp. baking soda

1 1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup cold water

12 ounces semisweet chocolate chips or chopped chocolate

2 cups chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Cream butter, brown sugar, sucanate an vanilla until light and fluffy.  Add eggs and mix until combined.  Combine flour, baking soda and salt in a separate bowl. Mix dry ingredients together.  Add flour mixture to butter mixture in small increments, alternating with water until well combined.  Fold in chocolate chips and walnuts.

Chill dough in refrigerator for one hour.

Drop by heaping tablespoons onto cooking sheet lined with parchment paper.  They will not spread much, so they can be placed fairly close together.

Bake for 9-12 minutes, or until set.  Remove from oven and let cool on sheet for 5-10 minutes.  Transfer cookies to a wire rack to continue cooling.

4 responses to “mom’s chocolate chip cookies

  1. Lovely. Seriously lovely.

    xox

  2. You’re going to make me make a batch for when I’m off on vacation! To this day I still use one of her pillows, it help’s me feel like her presence is still here in the house with us!

Leave a Reply

