limoncello granita with blueberries and mint

Lest you think I forgot that I started the process of making limoncello  here and here…well, you would be correct!  A few days ago I was rifling around in my freezer and lo!  there it was-the yellow liquid shimmering in the bottle hidden away in the bottom basket.

My thoughts:

First, it was very sweet  or, at least, much sweeter than the store bought type I’ve tasted.

Second, it was hellfire strong!

When I make it again (next time Meyer lemons are in season), I will make a few modifications to correct these things (on a side note, my daughter served it straight up to some guests, one of whom was Italian, and he really liked it).

I’ve read several other recipes that called for vodka instead of Everclear when making limoncello.  Never mind that asking for Everclear from the cashier at the liquor store (it’s kept on the shelf behind the register) made me want to go home and shower immediately.  Vodka and I like each other, so vodka it shall be.

My began my search for a cocktail or creation that used the limoncello without overpowering the taste with other ingredients.

Due to my disdain with white granulated sugar, I initially attempted this recipe with raw sugar; however, it turned the simple syrup into a mucky, tea-colored liquid.  Not very pretty at all.

limoncello granita with blueberries and mint

350 ml of limoncello (homemade or store bought)

1 cup water

1 cup white granulated sugar

juice and zest of 2 lemons

2 tsp chopped fresh mint

1 pint blueberries

Combine sugar, water, and mint in a medium saucepan and heat over low flame until sugar is dissolved.  Remove pan from heat, strain and cool.

Pour limoncello in a shallow pan (a 9 x 13 glass dish works perfectly).  Add lemon juice and zest.  Add cooled simple syrup and stir to combine.

Place in freezer for 1-2 hours.  Remove and, using a fork, scrap mixture until slushy.  Replace in freezer and repeat scraping processing one more time before serving.

Serve with fresh blueberries and additional mint.

One response to “limoncello granita with blueberries and mint

  1. YUMMMMM!!!!

Leave a Reply

