stained glass cookies (or, how to impress your friends with your mad baking skills without actually baking)

This is the part wherein I preface by saying that I don’t ever eat any artificial anything.

That is, for the most part, true; however, I have been known to steal the occasional Tootsie Roll from my kid’s Halloween bucket and I really like to order dessert when I go out for dinner (and sometimes I may not know precisely what is in it!). Like a few other recipes I’ve posted about, my mother made these every year at Christmas without fail.

But no…I don’t eat them.  These cookies belong to a small, select group of recipes that I make simply for tradition’s sake.  It’s not necessarily that I don’t like them.  They are seriously rich and delicious!  It’s that I had them so much growing up, I’ve lost the desire for them.  I can make them from memory and without much thought or labor, and they are consistently delicious.

The hardest thing about making these is finding the marshmallows.  It seems to get harder and harder each year.  I stress that they must be the Kraft brand.  Any other brand of multi-colored marshmallows will either have a different taste, consistency-or both.  My dear friend, Monica, who was on a speciality food item hunt of her, kept a lookout wherever she went until the quest was over.  A new Wegman’s opened up the street and Lo!  There they were (I had already begun telling people not to expect them this year).  She also contacted Kraft food on Facebook, who suggested using their product locator to find them.

cookie rollstained glass cookies

One bag of Kraft multi-colored marshmallows

12 ounces semi-sweet chocolate (either squares or chips)

1/2 cup unsalted butter (one stick)

1 cup chopped walnuts

In a double boiler (if you have one, if not a medium saucepan will work-just keep a close eye) over low heat, melt the butter.

Add chocolate, stirring constantly until completely melted and is a velvety consistency.  As soon as the chocolate melts, remove from heat to cool for a few minutes.

Toss marshmallows and walnuts together in a large bowl.  Add melted chocolate mixture and fold gently until incorporated.

Lay out aluminum foil pieces on counter and form logs.

Makes 2 very large logs or 3 smaller ones.

Wrap tightly with foil and refrigerate at least 2 hours before slicing and serving.  Store in refrigerator.  These freeze well if you want to make them far in advance.

stained glass cookies

Leave a Reply

