roasted tomato soup with brown rice and basil

IMG_2543My friends in the northeast will laugh, but we got a bit of snow last night.  When I say a bit, I mean less than an inch…which (stranger even) is enough in these parts to warrant a school closure.  My son went to bed last night with pajamas turned inside out and spoons under his pillow (like the beer commercial says, it’s only weird if it doesn’t work).  When I rolled over this morning and checked the cell phone, expecting to see the text message announcing school was closed, so that I could roll over and go back to sleep…nothing.

I requisitely pulled myself out of my warm bed to start the morning routine.  Once my son left for school, I pulled on my boots (still in PJ’s), grabbed my camera, and ventured out in the early morning sunshine to snap some photos of the snow and ice frozen on the bushes.

IMG_2541IMG_2546IMG_2542I warned you that I was going to bomb you with soup recipes this winter, and this is one of my favorites.  Growing up, I was a fan of Campbell’s tomato and rice soup with a grilled cheese sandwich.  Trust me when I say that this is sooo much better.  The brown rice makes it a rich and filling meal-perfect for these cold days we’ve had lately.

roasted tomato soup with brown rice

1 Tbsp olive oil

2 cups chopped onion

3 cloves garlic minced

4 cups chicken stock

1-28 ounce can crushed tomatoes or I used 28 ounces of slow-roasted frozen tomatoes that I pulsed in the blender

Large pinch of saffron threads

1/2 cup cooked brown rice

1/3 cup chopped fresh basil leaves

1/2 cup light cream

salt and pepper

In a large pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Add onions and cook until golden brown, stirring occasionally, about 15 minutes.  Add garlic and cook another minute.  Stir in the chicken stock, tomatoes, saffron, basil, 1 Tbsp salt, and 1 tsp pepper.  Bring soup to a boil, then lower heat and simmer 15 minutes.

Add rice to the soup.  Stir in the cream, return to a simmer, and cook another 10 minutes, stirring frequently.

Ladle into bowls. Top with avocado, cheese, or croutons if desired.

IMG_2111IMG_2130

2 responses to “roasted tomato soup with brown rice and basil

  1. Pingback: Grandma’s Tomato Soup « AnnieRie Unplugged

  2. Well I’m glad to read that it isn’t just London that closes down when it starts to snow (mind you we close down with 1cm, let alone an inch of the stuff)

Leave a Reply

