Tequila marinated steak

“My favorite animal is steak” – Fran Leibowitz

Sometimes a girl just needs some meat.

My very occasional encounter with meat is usually of the burger variety (and even then, I’m quite satisfied with the leaner bison burger).  But now that grilling season is upon us, sometimes a girl also wants a steak.

The marinade calls for lime and tequila, one of my favorite spirits.  There’s nothing quite like a traditional homemade margarita (none of those store bought mixes, please!) or a good sipping tequila.  And when it comes in a truly badass bottle…well, all the better!

Kah Anejo Tequila

This Añejo tequila is made by Kah and each tequila type is packaged in a unique artisan skull bottle.  Like I said, badass (and yeah, a little creepy).  Also, not the tequila you want to use to cook (I bought a bottle as a birthday gift for my brother and I just had to show you the bottle!).  It’s smooth for sipping.  A Reposado is fine for cooking or mixing.

Slice it and serve in tortillas with jalapeños and avocado for tacos.  I ate the leftovers with eggs for breakfast the day after.

Tequila marinated steak (adapted barely from The Boys Club)

1 Tbsp onion powder

1 Tbsp garlic powder

1 tsp smoked paprika

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground black pepper

1 tsp salt

1/4 cup fresh lime juice

one small jalapeño, minced

4 ounces tequila

1/3 cup olive oil

1.5 pound top round steak

Combine marinade ingredients in a small bowl and place with steak in a ziploc bag.  massage gently to coat steak.  Place in refrigerator and allow to marinade for 4-6 hours.

Remove from refrigerator one hour prior to grilling.

Grill to your desired doneness.  Let sit for 15 minutes before slicing.

steak

4 responses to “Tequila marinated steak

  1. I once had a very bad experience after drinking tequila (hallucinations), and have avoided it ever since. But I’ve been trying it slowly, with the help of a knowledgable bartender at Xitomate, and it’s really good! Haven’t had any hallucinations so far, either!

    • Wow! That’s a pretty severe reaction. Wonder what that was about. I’ve been to Xitomate twice and liked it both times. Great Margaritas!

      • I went to Xitomate for happy hour yesterday – Hye Lim (the bartender) made me a Horny margarita – it was great, and I slept like a baby – no hallucinations! I think that past experience might have been a fluke – phew!!

  2. I’m drooling. Nuff said

Leave a Reply

