game-changing brussel sprout salad

brussel sprouts

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you know my disdain for brussel sprouts.  Yeah…If you ask my husband, he will tell you that I pretty well hate them.  There are many vegetables (and even some fruit varieties) I can say that I’m not fond of, but I tolerate for their nutritional value.  Brussel sprouts don’t even fall into that category.

When the weekly CSA box contains brussel sprouts, I typically drizzle them in olive oil and roast them.  My husband couldn’t be happier that he will likely consume the whole pound single-handedly, for I can’t bring myself to encourage the kids to eat what I cannot even force myself to eat.

I’d seen a few recipes floating around the internet for a raw brussel sprout salad.  A few of my favorite bloggers have made them.  To say I wasn’t convinced would be an understatement; however, shredding the spouts like cabbage for cole slaw and topping with a dressing seemed slightly promising. What did I have to lose?

All I have to say is…GAAAHH!  The sprouts and the nuts give it crunchiness, the dressing has just the right tang, the dates add the perfect amount of sweetness.

I had two bowls.

The next day I ate another.

Two weeks ago I traded out bean sprouts for (gasp) MORE kale at the CSA and now….now?  I’m wondering when we will be getting brussel sprouts again!

brussel sprout salad with walnuts and honey mustard dressing

1 pound fresh brussel sprouts, woody ends trimmed off

15 Medjool dates, pitted

1/2 cup chopped walnuts, toasted in a small dry skillet over low heat until fragrant (about 8 minutes)

Dressing:

1/4 cup olive oil

1/2 tsp dijon mustard

Juice of one lemon

1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 1/2 tsp honey

salt and pepper to taste

Whisk together the dressing ingredients in a small bowl or in a Mason jar.

Halve the brussel sprouts and place in a food processor.  Pulse in small intervals, checking the consistency after each time so as not to over chop.  It should be roughly like a finer cole slaw consistency.  Alternatively, You can use a mandolin to shred them for more control over the texture.

Remove the shredded sprouts to a large bowl.  Pulse the walnuts in the food processor in the same manner.  Add to the sprouts.  Next, pulse the dates and add them to the salad.

Add dressing to the salad and toss to combine.

This tastes best the day you make it, but keeps well for one day (it just loses a little of the crunch).more sproutsfood processordressingsalad

 

Leave a Reply

